PDA

View Full Version : Older Publication Question...VCBC

tlwise12
01-14-2011, 10:54 AM
I'm relatively new to collecting vintage cards and have never seen the Vintage and Classic Baseball Collector magazines...

Are these well done magazines?

Are they worth purchasing for around $10.00

Does anyone recommend any specific issues?

Thanks!
Travis

barrysloate
01-14-2011, 11:55 AM
Travis- since I wrote numerous articles for VCBC, and for a time was the assistant editor (mostly in title only), I have to say it was a fine publication, the only really good one at the time. But its emphasis was on memorabilia more than cards. You should try to look at a table of contents to see if there are one or more articles in it that would interest you.

Zach Wheat
01-14-2011, 12:28 PM
I agree with Barry. Some of the articles on specific sets not actively tracked were helpful. They also included a number of interviews and first hand stories that I found interesting. The issues regarding Topps issues from 50's & '60's was interesting.

As far as determinging information on a specific set, I have found the more current publications like the standard catalog or Lew Lipsett's Encyclopedia of Baseball Cards (I, II, III & IV).

M Wheat

FrankWakefield
01-14-2011, 12:38 PM
I think that VCBC was the best of the magazines on old ball cards. So if you've not seen them, $10 would be well spent on one, especially if there was an article in there about cards in which you had an interest. So, yes.

Mr. Lipset's Encyclopedias are great. But there are only 3. Volume IV was to be about periodical cards, and it was not finished.

Zach Wheat
01-14-2011, 01:27 PM
Yes of course Frank is right. Vol. IV was never finished.

tedzan
01-14-2011, 02:43 PM
The VCBC magazine featured some really great articles in it's approx.40 issues. Like Barry (and others here), I wrote
several vintage card articles in it.