PDA

View Full Version : T206 plank - Need advice -Fake real?

jdubbs10
11-24-2010, 03:15 PM
just like the title says. I have not seen the card in person yet, but will real soon. I would like all you T206 experts to weigh in here. The guy is selling me a stack of 40 or so common t206s and has this one. it is glued in a yearbook. thanks for any help.
http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y43/jdubbs10/3n63k23l25U65R15S4abhf328ab4ac7c81684.jpg
http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y43/jdubbs10/3m33pb3l65O25Q65X5abhe728543f5dc91481.jpg

teetwoohsix
11-24-2010, 03:41 PM
Hi Josh- I'm no expert, so please don't go off of my opinion, but if that's a fake, then the scammers are getting good !! It seems to have some of the things I look for in a real T206.....black line around frame, the type seems about right (from what I can see),,,,,but there are some things that appear to be odd- the card seems oddly faded? And the wear on the card is strange?

Anyhow, any idea of what might be on the back of the card (besides glue:D)?

Sincerely, Clayton

Edit to say.......something about the creases seem off........like the ink rubs off? Maybe it's my screen.

jdubbs10
11-24-2010, 03:45 PM
clayton thanks for the response. Im not sure what is on the back but i plan on holding up up to the light to see if i can see what is on the back. From what i have read, the plank should have a SC back? If anyone else can shed light on this that would help.thanks

36GoudeyMan
11-24-2010, 03:54 PM
Can you get the card, but make its final sale subject to authentication by a TPG? If they won't let you do that, screw them... but if they will, maybe you've got a real find. Or do they not know exactly what the Plank card is in terms of value?

Baseball Rarities
11-24-2010, 03:58 PM
Does not look good to me.

His name and team should be in brown lettering at the bottom. Looks black in your scan.

fkw
11-24-2010, 04:05 PM
Fake

The caption (Amer.) should extend father to the right past the "A" on uniform.