PDA

View Full Version : Is the SMR accurate?

Matthew H
06-01-2010, 01:31 PM
Hi, I am new to this thread. I used old posts to aviod buying a fake t205 Cobb, I thank you all.

I have a subsricption to the SMR as I have lately been sending cards to PSA.
Is there truth to their pricing? I have always wanted a 1915 Cracker Jack Ty Cobb. The current SMR for a PSA 2 is 850 and PSA 3 is 1300. Is it really possible to find these cards at these prices? The only ones I've seen are Ebay BIN for 4-5 times this price.

Just wondering if anyone has seen one sell close to these prices or if anyone can steer me in the right direction.

Thank you,
Matt

ullmandds
06-01-2010, 01:44 PM
Nope...the SMR is pretty useless...and...no...I don't think you'll see a cj cobb for that money...unless it's not a complete card.

Matthew H
06-01-2010, 01:52 PM
I did not think so..... Where do they come up with these prices?

ullmandds
06-01-2010, 02:22 PM
I think they come from PSA's ass?!

tbob
06-01-2010, 02:29 PM
Some collector in 1988 came up with these prices I guess, and they have never changed. The SMRs for prewar caramel cards like E94s, E97s and E98s are laughably wrong.

Matthew H
06-01-2010, 02:49 PM
Funny thing is, I am looking at other sets in the SMR and I am finding cards that routinely sell for much less than they list the cards for... So inconsistent. No wonder it's free :0

Pup6913
06-01-2010, 03:00 PM
Matt that is going to go for Beckett also and any other guide out there. Alot of research and some help from VCP.com and cardpricer.com may set you in the appropriate ballpark for buying a specific card. Best of luck in your quest:)

drdduet
06-01-2010, 03:09 PM
no.

yanksfan09
06-01-2010, 03:15 PM
I would buy Cracker Jack Cobbs all day at those prices until I ran out of money!

HRBAKER
06-01-2010, 03:17 PM
In a lot of instances the SMR prices are as ridiculously low as the Ebay BIN prices are high.

Matthew H
06-01-2010, 03:28 PM