PDA

View Full Version : Best set for a new set builder

dstraate
05-19-2010, 10:20 AM
Hello All,

I've collected since I was a kid, and never got into the set building thing. Not to be a smug jerk, but I'm a school teacher looking down the barrel of a lot of free time this summer, and thought I might give set-building a try.

Any thoughts on what sets could be worked on within a reasonable budget that would showcase a few of the games greats, provide fodder for a few conversations, etc. I realize this is a pre-war forum, but would entertain all thoughts pre '75

Thanks guys

HRBAKER
05-19-2010, 10:27 AM
E95 and E96
Manageable size and outlay and the cards are readily available in most all low to mid-grades

E95 has some top flight HOFers, E96 not so much

sbfinley
05-19-2010, 11:16 AM
Not Pre-War but 54 Bowman is a good start. The Mantle and Williams will set you back a couple hundred in low grades, but the rest of the set is affordable. Lots of HOFers too.

Zach Wheat
05-19-2010, 11:26 AM
T201 is also a good set to start out with....it is comprised of 50 cards (100 players) with all cards obtainable. It also has reasonably priced cards of Mathewson (whose name is misspelled), Johnson and Cobb along with 17 other HOF'ers.

terjung
05-19-2010, 12:45 PM
1933 Goudey - a 240 card set with 64 of the cards representing HOFers (including Ruth, Gehrig, Foxx, Speaker, Dean, Cochrane, etc.)

The cards are great looking, readily available, and can be budget friendly depending on what grade (appearance level) you choose. Also, they are easily resold if you change your mind midway through. A great and important set that is ranked as one of the big three - along with the T206 and 1952 Topps sets.

Good luck!

glchen
05-19-2010, 04:35 PM
1933 Goudey - a 240 card set with 64 of the cards representing HOFers (including Ruth, Gehrig, Foxx, Speaker, Dean, Cochrane, etc.)