PDA

View Full Version : Early Football Question

aelefson
04-28-2010, 06:48 AM
Hi-
I recently acquired the football scanned below and I had a few questions I was hoping someone might be able to help me with.
1. Any idea on the approximate age? I was told that it was possibly pre 1920 because there is no airhole to inflate the ball. Is this accurate?
2. Is it possible to tell the shape of the ball in its current state? Or, is there another method to better pin down the year this was made?
3. Has anyone had a ball like this filled? How much did it cost to have the service performed, or did you do it yourself? Is it difficult to do?
4. Any clue as to the manufacturer?
Any additional information regarding this ball would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance,
Alan Elefson
aelefson@hotmail.com

vintagesportscollector
04-28-2010, 08:57 AM
Alan- I'm not an expert but the lack of an airhole would indicate a pre 1920/30 ball, I believe. Can't help with better dating or the manufacturer. Unless you want to replace with a new air-bladder, I would recommend filling with Poly-Fil foam. Polyfil works great, gives a solid shape and feel for display, and is very easy to use - just stuff the ball. You can also replace the laces with leather laces, and then finish off with some Mink oil for a great patina.

vintagesportflips
04-28-2010, 11:41 AM