PDA

View Full Version : Authentic Jackie Robinson sig? Plus odd tickets

cubsguy1969
04-14-2010, 08:46 PM
Hi, everybody. I went to a sale last week at the estate of a Brooklyn Dodgers collector. The estate was in Brooklyn, of all places. :)
He had lots of neat stuff: old programs, ticket stubs, lots of autographs, pennants and on and on. A lot of it was overpriced. I think the heir just went online and found the highest prices he could find and priced things that way, regardless of condition. But I still picked up a few things, including this Jackie Robinson signature on an index card. The price wasn't bad, so I took a chance. I don't typically like buying autographs because there are so many fakes and I'm not an expert at all. But I rolled the dice on this one. What do you think?

Also, I was excited when I found these old ticket stubs in a box. It looked like stubs from a Daffy Dean no-hitter. But when i got home, I found that he did pitch a no-hitter that year, and it was against the Dodgers, but it was much later in the season. Definitely not Game No. 32. I should have figured it out at the sale when it was dated in September, but I was a bit overwhelmed by all the stuff, and it didn't register. Any chance it's Dean signature? I'm guessing not. I'd assume he'd know when he pitched his no-no.

Anyway let me know what you think of the sig and the tickets. It was a fun sale. Wish the prices would have been a little better. I think the guy had been collecting since he was a little boy. It was a collection in the truest sense. Thanks. Rob

jb217676
04-14-2010, 09:09 PM
Here's a Jackie Robinson autograph to compare yours to.

danc
04-14-2010, 09:32 PM
Really neat collection and great JR signature.

DanC

perezfan
04-14-2010, 10:57 PM
Perfect authentic Jackie sig.... wonderful pickup.... congrats!

mr2686
04-15-2010, 12:05 AM
Rob,
The Robinson looks real good to me too. Matches up with the one I have real well (got mine from Ron Gordon back in the late 80's).