PDA

View Full Version : 1920's Team Ball Find

azbob
04-03-2010, 07:08 PM
Help. I found this baseball in a box of old stuff going through my mother’s estate. A local AZ dealer suggested Net54 as a good place to start my info hunt (I'm new to all of this). It’s in pretty rough shape (see photos) but I can read “George H. Sisler, worlds hitting record” fairly clearly and there are multiple other signatures and many scuffed too badly to read. There also appears to be a date but I can’t make it out clearly. I’m assuming it’s a team ball from the early 20’s and I do know that my grandfather was a baseball enthusiast and pitched in the III League during that time.

I’m trying to figure out what team this is, what it might be worth, how to “authenticate” it, and how to keep it from getting any more “worn out”. Also, are there such things as conservators that might bring this thing back to a better condition? I’m not a collector or trader by any means and don’t really know if I have a rare find here or not. Any suggestions or input would be appreciated.

slidekellyslide
04-03-2010, 07:24 PM
St Louis Browns early 1920s baseball...I see Urban Shocker's signature and Josh Billings. Edited to add that Billings last year was 1923 and the ball was probably signed between 1921 and 1923...as 1920 was the year that Sisler set a batting record with 257 hits.

slidekellyslide
04-03-2010, 07:30 PM
I'd just add that Urban Shocker died in 1928 and his signature is valuable...the ball is rough and I don't collect autographs so can't tell you who should authenticate it for you...I'm guessing most would say James Spence. Not sure what a conservator could do for you, but restoration is generally frowned up in regards to autographed baseballs.

collectbaseball
04-03-2010, 07:31 PM
1922 I'd guess -- Sisler won the MVP award that year and set the record for longest hitting streak, which explains the "worlds hitting record" part of it. Really cool find!

slidekellyslide
04-03-2010, 07:37 PM