PDA

View Full Version : The New Guy...

Iwantmorecards77
02-21-2010, 09:05 PM
Hello gang! I've been browsing these boards for a couple of months and finally decided to stop in! I'm new to this whole "vintage" game, but have long admired these "artifacts" of baseball's past. The funds...well, really are never there. lol

Obviously, I have a huge list of cards I would love to own one day, some of which may never happen but that's okay. I have always had a thing for the T206's (surprise!) and just recently dove right in and picked up a few cards. While I have owned just two T206's before (one common I recently sold and a McGraw Portrait), these few cards have really added a nice little flavor to my mostly modern (so kill me!) collection.

As a newbie, I have had my concerns. Again, the funds are on the low side, so I wanted to be careful. I've done some research before purchasing (a lot of it from this very site): detecting fakes, detecting fake holders, what "reasonable" prices are, past auctions (on the "bay"), matching certification numbers, and reputable sellers (plenty of feedback and 100% positive, selling similar items, etc.)

So, finally I decided to purchase a Ty Cobb "Bat Off Shoulder" (PSA 3.5), Christy Mathewson "Portrait" (PSA 3), and a Walter Johnson "Portrait" (PSA 2). While I am thrilled to add these to my collection, as a rookie vintage collector, I still get woried with all the "crookedness" that goes on out there! From this site, I've read about fakes ending up in real PSA or SGC holders, "doctored" cards, and so forth.

If any of you vets out there have any more pointers, feel free to share. Should I be this nervous when I purchase? (I've always been one to worry about everything - it kinda' takes the fun out of it a bit)