PDA

View Full Version : Has Anyone Seen This Ruth-Gehrig autograph Topps card?

RichardSimon
02-21-2010, 11:35 AM
I would be curious as to the opinions of the board on this card.
A little bit of a small image, but its all I have.

David Atkatz
02-21-2010, 12:22 PM
The Gehrig is probably OK, IMHO. I wouldn't buy the Ruth, myself.

perezfan
02-21-2010, 12:31 PM
Agree....

Gehrig - 50/50 ; Ruth - highly questionable

tinkereversandme
02-21-2010, 12:53 PM
I hate when people say this (as this validates that they don't know what they are talking about and guessing) but while I'm not an expert, the Ruth has a lot of issues. Gehrig looks fine.

Regards,
Larry

GrayGhost
02-22-2010, 06:40 AM
Yeah, that Ruth doesnt look too good at all. Gehrig good to me.

RichardSimon
02-22-2010, 08:19 AM
duplicate post

RichardSimon
02-22-2010, 08:20 AM
Now for the full story - the card was pulled from a pack and there have been print stories about it. Supposedly it is on the way to an authenticator now.
The consensus here is, IMHO, absolutely correct. Gehrig good, Ruth no way.
Looks like Topps is taking their lessons from the early UD cards that had fake autographs.

--

PhilNap
02-22-2010, 08:14 PM
Here are larger images. We still happy with the Gehrig? The paper and the ink look awfully similar as well.

prewarsports
02-22-2010, 08:17 PM
Does not look like the same one as in the first photo.

HRBAKER
02-22-2010, 08:17 PM
That doesn't look like the same card to me. In the first one shown by Richard the Gehrig looks much lighter and the top of the "L" is much closer to the frame than on the second example.

PhilNap
02-22-2010, 08:20 PM
You guys are right. How many of these did they make?

PhilNap
02-22-2010, 08:33 PM
The image I posted matches the image on Topps' promotional sheet for the set.

See here (page 5): http://www.topps.com/productsellsheet/topps2009TripleThreadsBaseball1349746.pdf

Apparently that was a prototype and not the actual card that ended up in a pack.

perezfan