PDA

View Full Version : Very Rare Pennants Indeed

mjkm90
11-15-2009, 04:10 PM
These are the only two examples of these rare pieces I've seen or heard of. The lucky buyers will not be sorry, as these will only grow in value and, more importantly, bring years of satisfaction as collection centerpieces. If I had the space, I would have gone hard after each.

Anyone know the winners?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=170404486950&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=170404475396&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT

MGHPro
11-15-2009, 05:33 PM
They looked like nice pieces, but something about them worried me. I kind of felt like they could be made up fantasy pieces. I'm no expert by any means, but that was my first thought.
Matt

mjkm90
11-15-2009, 05:47 PM
Good question Matt

If you look closely at the Reach, you will see the dimples or bumps in the felt. This material has not been made since the 50s. You can also see the cracking from the stiffening print. I'm confident the Reach is good. The images of the Spalding are not clear or tight enough, but it is probably fine as well.

Any other thoughts on these.

BrockJacob
11-15-2009, 06:14 PM
They look like the genuine article to me. At first glance I thought they would be mini-pennants but once I checked the descriptions and saw they were full size I was really taken back. I figured both would sell for $1,000+. I was surprised to see the Reach pennant bring less than half the Spalding version. Someone got a steal on that one. Both are incredible though.

perezfan
11-15-2009, 06:23 PM
I think they were good as well...

The felt looked correct, as did the "puckering" of the painted graphics. The only thing that seemed odd is that the seller would obtain these unique pieces without some type of explanation in the descriptions. Would have been nice to know how he/she acquired these, or if they had access to an old Sporting Goods store, etc.