PDA

View Full Version : Card that has appreciated the most in value in last 20 years?

ullmandds
10-12-2009, 06:26 PM
I have been collecting exclusively vintage bb cards for about 20 years now. It's amazing to look back at what cards "used" to cost...as most of you often do...and we often discuss. 20 years ago...caramel cards got no respect(like the twins) and cost very little, comparatively. Strip cards...fahget about it...to me they were such crap I didn't even want them.

In your opinions...what 1 card/card type has appreciated the most...% wise...in the last 20 -30 years or so.

My guess is it's a joe jackson card...E90-1...ugly and way overvalued! What do y'all think.

barrysloate
10-12-2009, 06:40 PM
1914 Baltimore News Babe Ruth wasn't very valuable 20 years ago. Look at it today.

Epps
10-12-2009, 06:50 PM
T210 Joe Jackson didn't sell for very much.

chiprop
10-12-2009, 07:39 PM
d304s, t208s, Big Heads, rare backs, post cards...

Fred
10-12-2009, 10:52 PM
Ok, lets start by breaking out the $100K cards and then narrowing it down. There's the T206 Wagner - how much was it worth about 30 years ago? I think in the $10K range. Bu then when you think about the Balt News Ruth and T210 Jackson, those cards were under a grand and in a move of percentages that means some outrageous percent increases.

I think trying to select a set for this categorey will be interesting. Someone already mentioned D304, nice pick. I suppose you could try and throw in the T210 but that's tough because that set is near impossible to complete (all series). What about Zeenuts? I bet there are a few years that have skyrocketed.

Interesting question - for those of us that collected back then it makes you want to PUKE, thinking what we could have had back then so cheap! Ok, I'm still happy with having all the collecting memories... it just would have been nice to have a "whale tale" (or two).

drc
10-13-2009, 12:48 AM