PDA

View Full Version : Collecting interests?

V117collector
08-17-2009, 09:08 PM
I thought it would be a good idea to start a "real thread" asking other board members about there collecting interests.

As most members may know I’ve been collecting Maple Crispette’s for 4 years which in turn has resulted in the completion of the set minus #15 Stengel (short print). I consider it complete in my opinion!

http://s306.photobucket.com/albums/nn269/Maple_Crispette_Set/?start=all

Now I’m looking for a new project that will satisfy my collecting addiction.
I don’t really like “type card” collecting as I’ve always had the itch to complete sets. Still not sure to which set I’d like to tackle next, but I can tell you it will consist of 30 cards.

Potomac Yank
08-17-2009, 09:30 PM
Which set have you completed? .....

btkpath
08-17-2009, 09:44 PM
Brad,
I too prefer the idea of collecting sets that I feel that I have a chance of completing. I have completed my set of 1933 Goudey's in moderate condition (yes, including Lajoie) and started collecting 1914 Cracker Jacks and t205's, although most of my efforts have concentrated on the 1914's. I probably would not have started the 1914 Cracker Jacks if I knew the almost unicorn-like reputation that finding the #93 Del Pratt card had. To my surprise, though, I found one for sale several weeks ago and jumped at the opportunity. Now completing the set is just a matter of money (of which I have precious little). Good luck on your endeavors.

Brian Van Horn
08-17-2009, 09:58 PM
Brad,

I am on the opposite end of the scale from you. My motto, which has been mentioned before, is that if I like it and I can afford it, I buy it. As I e-mailed another collector/board member, my collection has no focus. That said, I do collect type cards and the one type set I have completed is the 1927 E126. The following is one of the sixty cards in the set:

ullmandds
08-17-2009, 10:15 PM